Reduction To Nine County Commissioners

Tennessee state law requires a minimum of 9 and allows maximum of 25 commissioners.

To be in compliance with Tennessee State the Home Rule Charter is requiring one per district (8 districts) and one commissioner will run county-wide, at large.

Total commissioners shall be 9 as opposed to the 24 we have now.

After phase-in of the Home Rule Charter the commissioner will have even numbers elected in one election cycle and odd numbers elected in a different election cycle.

The terms of office will still be 4 years but this will allow for continuity in the County Commission.

Found at Section 2.03.B. Membership and Election.

Scroll Up